Interview: Timomatic.

Last year I was lucky enough to get a very short, but special interview with singing and dancing superstar Timomatic. 

Tim Omaji – who is better known as Timomatic, is a Nigerian born Australian singer, songwriter and dancer. Timomatic’s rise to fame was as a contestant on the second season of So You Think You Can Dance Australia on which he placed 7th. In 2011, Timomatic appeared as a contestant on the fifth series of Australia’s Got Talent and placed 3rd. Later that year Timomatic signed with Sony Music Australia and released his debut single ‘Set It Off.’ The single reached number two on the ARIA Singles Charts and went triple platinum. Since then, singles ‘If Looks Could Kill,’ ‘Can You Feel It’ and ‘Parachute’ have been extremely successful. Timomatic is currently a judge on the 2013 series of Australia’s Got Talent.

1. How do you stay so focused and determined to follow your dreams?
I keep myself inspired by listening to excellent classic music or live performances. It keeps me hungry seeing other people living their dreams and making memorable moments.

2. What has been the biggest achievement of your career so far?
I would have to say seeing ‘Set It Off’ going triple platinum. For a debut single it’s a dream come true.

3. 5 years ago, would you have ever imagined yourself to be where you are today?
Yeah, I’ve always been very focused on my goals and to see it become a reality is a confirmation of hardwork and dedication to my craft. 

4. How has life changed for you after entering So You Think You Can Dance and Australia’s Got Talent?
I guess I get noticed a lot more when I’m out, and I’ve never flown so much in my life! It’s awesome!

5. Who is your idol/inspiration and why?
I really look up to the work of Michael Jackson, he is the blueprint for all entertainers. He made people stop and stare every time he hit the stage and he loved giving back to the needy.

6. Do you have any advice for other people out there who want to follow their dreams and be successful?
I would say two things. Hunger and humility. Stay hungry and focused on your craft and work hard until you see results, then keep working! And be humble, I really believe that if you are kind and appreciative of your talents, not only will you enjoy yourself more, you will make a lot more friends than enemies.

One thought on “Interview: Timomatic.

  1. Pingback: Timomatic-trained parkour pizza boy’s got the moves | Sykose Extreme Sports News

Leave a Reply

