Online Shopping – On A Budget

So if you are anything like me, you’re a total lover of online shopping. The minute there is money in my bank account I hit the online stores, filling my virtual shopping basket with any clothes, shoes and accessories that take my fancy. But these items quickly add up, and what do you do when you reach the checkout and your shopping has completely exceeded your price range? Once again, if you’re anything like me, choosing an item to take off your order is almost as difficult as trying to give up chocolate – so surely there is a way to avoid this situation? We all want to be able to finalize our online order and still have money left in the bank, and while this may seem impossible to some, it can be done! Here are my tips on online shopping on a budget:

1. Look around
You may have found that one dress or pair of heels and fallen in love with them straight away. I know the feeling, you want to buy them right that instant so that they’ll be sitting on your doorstep as quickly as possible. But there is a pretty good chance that another store or designer has the same, or a very similar item for a fraction of the price! There is a crazy amount of online stores, and small online boutiques these days so you are bound to find an almost identical item somewhere! So fight off that feeling of impulse buying and have look in any related online stores for the same piece at a much cheaper price – you might even save enough to buy a second item!

2. Wait!
Yes I completely understand that you have probably fallen head over heels for that skirt or pair of shoes and you can’t possibly exit the page without purchasing them. But what if I told you to wait? I know, are probably wondering why I’d ever even consider that. Eventually these fantastic items will have to be moved to the sale page, and you will be able to grab them for at least half of the original price. This may be a month or so later, but if you’re on a tight budget the best thing you can do is wait. This gorgeous piece will still end up in your closet, and you’ll be looking as fabulous as ever even if it is a few weeks after you originally discovered it.

3. Sale pages
Almost every store in town has at least 1 sale rack, and you’ll find that it’s the same with online stores. The first page I check out is the sale page, it is so easy to find great clothes and accessories for a fraction of the price. Checking out the sale page is the best way to save money, and it gives you the opportunity to be creative and mix these great bargains with your previous purchases that are sitting in your wardrobe. Sharing one of my own experiences may convince you more, so here goes! 
I love browsing through the hundreds of pages of women’s clothing on www.citybeach.com.au and often save things to my favourites but never purchase them due to being on a 15 year-olds budget (which isn’t a lot, as you may have presumed)! Quite a few weeks later I found a dress and a top that I had previously saved on the sale page, both for half the original price which was now in my range! I purchased the ‘Mooloola Daisy Crochet Dress’ for $29.99, originally $59.99 and the ‘Mooloola White Lace Tank’ for $19.99, which was once $39.99! So both tip number 2 & 3 come into play here, wait until the price decreases and check out the sale pages!

4. Mix and match
Why bother wasting all of your money on a whole new outfit when you can choose just 1 item of clothing but wear it in so many ways! Something like a denim jacket is great for this, so my advice would be to spend your money on a decent denim vest or jacket and get lots of use out of it by pairing it with different clothes to make heaps of outfits – trust me, if you do this right no one will even notice it’s the same jacket! For example, your new jacket with a pair of jeans or some black tights makes for a more casual look but go with a skirt or dress and some heels and you’re ready for any dressy occasion! Mixing and matching your clothes – old and new, is a great way to avoid buying a whole outfit online and just going with that one statement piece, plus you’ll have extra dollars in your pockets!

I know that this is hard advice to take, believe me because I need to take some of it myself! But restricted online shopping is better than no online shopping at all, and who’s to say that you can’t buy amazing clothes with a limited budget? At the end of the day, no one is going to say no to having money in the bank and by using these tips you can have this as well as an amazing wardrobe!

Here are a few of my favourite online stores:
http://www.icedesign.com.au
http://www.forevernew.com.au
http://www.boohoo.com
http://www.lucyinthesky.com
http://www.blueivory.net
http://www.indigolaneboutique.com

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

