Interview: Rachael Leahcar

One of my most successful interviews on my previous blog was with The Voice 2012 finalist Rachael Leahcar. Rachael was kind enough to share the interview on her Twitter page which meant some of her most dedicated fans read my blog and gave me a record number of views! Here is what they lovely Rachael Leahcar had to say:
 

    C: Rachael, you recently finished third on The Voice Australia! How did you find your experience on the show?

    R: The Voice was one of the best experiences of my life. It taught me so much about myself as an artist and life itself. It taught me that along with positive feedback, you will also get negative and have to learn to deal with this in a healthy way. It also taught me that I should be who I am because if I try to be something I’m not, it will be fake and meaningless. It was extremely hard work but in the end, very rewarding as I received the the recording contract I’ve always dreamed of getting.
    C: If you had the chance to sing with anyone in the world, who would it be?
    R: That’s a very hard question! Since I’ve already sung with Delta Goodrem, I’m going to have to say either Andrea Bocelli or the modern artist James Morrison.
    C: What was it that inspired you to audition for The Voice?

    R: Believe it or not, I just wanted to fill in some time in my gap year! I never expected to get as far as I did but that’s what I allocated this year for anyway, for music. If not for The Voice, I don’t think I would’ve made my dream come true so I’m definitely glad I took the risk.
    C: What are your plans for the not so distant future, in regard to your music?

    R: Well my album Shooting Star debuted at number #5 on the ARIA charts so I’m happy that all the work the Universal team and I did to promote it has paid off! Now that that’s done, I will try to perform as many places as possible and write more songs for the next album. I intend the next one to be a mix of covers and originals but all with much more artistic input on my behalf so very excited for that!
    C: Who has been your idol and/or inspiration and why?
    R: I have admired the late Eva Cassidy for quite some time. Unfortunately her talent was not recognised by the world before she passed but she inspires me because no matter how hard it was, she always stuck to what she loved, music. And believe me, music is a very hard industry to get into. Not to mention her voice is the most beautiful I’ve ever heard.
    C: Do you have any advice for other people out there who want to be successful and follow their dreams like yourself one day?
    R: Perfect your art, whatever it may be. Always be ready for greatness because one day, it might be thrust upon you and you have to be ready to catch it with both hands. But as long as you follow your dream, you will be successful because that dream is what makes you happy… and happiness is the key to success, not money or fame.

Thanks for your time Rachael!

664872-rachael-leahcar

Leave a Reply

